Board of Trustees

CIFOR–ICRAF operates under the authority of a legally constituted Board of Trustees, charged with leading the development and implementation of governance matters, unified policies, processes and systems.

Following the merger of the Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) with the International Centre for Research in Agroforestry (ICRAF also known as World Agroforestry) in January 2019, CIFOR–ICRAF is actively working towards a single leadership team and unified policies, processes and systems while maintaining each Center’s legal personalities.

The Common Board of Trustees consists of members that have diverse skills in areas such as forestry and agroforestry science, natural resources management, audit, finance and risk management, and policy and governance.

Its primary mandate is to provide governance oversight, ensuring that CIFOR–ICRAF functions to the highest standards to execute its mission. In order to do this, the Common Board of Trustees has delegated the day-to-day management of the Centers to the Directors General, who are assisted by senior management teams.

For more details, read the CIFOR-ICRAF merger FAQs.

The Common Board of Trustees is made up of the following members: